I’m back and got stuff on my mind

Ok, its not exactly IA specific, but I thought I should let both my fans know that I am back up and running after a weeks holiday in Germany. Having spent this much time with the family, my narrative cup is runneth-over (sic), but I thought I should offer the three things that are likely to feature this week as I slip back into the world of work (and a stupidly full inbox does not count)

1. Is the world Anglising? Examples of unforgiveable use of English when German would have done whilst in Germany:

Chicken & Chips (OK, it doesn’t look weird here, but on a big sign in a shopping mall in South West Germany, it looks downright strange)
More Power to You (Lazy Vodafone, just lazy)
Downloaden (a new verb, to download). Worse still, oh students of german tenses, is the past tense, downgeloaden

What is the impact of this and other horrors? We’re already quite good at this in the IA world – can it get worse and how?

2. Bristol City, 7 points out of a possible 9. I should go on holiday more often. Probably not so much about this.

3. My latest buzzwords, courtesy of HM Government: ART…Accountability, Restraint and Transparency

You will be hearing these more and more…

For now however, its nice to be back albeit in need of a diet. More soon

About Graeme Stewart, McAfee

I work for McAfee as Director of Public Sector Strategy and Relations, UK&I
This entry was posted in Bristol City, Efficiency, Security. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

